The Savoy is composed of three separate structures that were combined into one as the Savoy Hotel in 1912. The amalgamation of buildings lends the Savoy a unique façade of Richardsonian and Italianate details. Both the Soledad Block and the University Block were designed by the famous San Antonio architect, Alfred Giles. Whimsical elements of the design include heavy limestone blocks carved with acanthus leaves and dragon-like creatures. When Weston Urban acquired the Savoy in 2016, it had been mostly vacant for several years and was in a state of deterioration. A master stone mason was hired to clean, restore, and preserve the exterior. The upper floors have been redeveloped into creative office space and the street level is available for retail tenants who value historic charm.